Weekend with Family

18 Apr

Every expat here in the UAE always looking forward for a nice weekend. We deserves a relaxing and enjoyable off after 5 /6 days a week of hard works. I’m always excited to be with my family during this time since my daughter and hubby just came here last month. I see to it that we have quality time together after 3 years of being separated from them.

Last Friday we went to newly opened Ikea Yas Island, It’s a 20-30 min ride from our place. The place is huge with an ample parking for the customers. What I love about the place is their Food Court, very organized and unique way of ordering. They offer lots of food choices at a very affordable price not to mention the free refill of coffee and softdrinks. Ikea also has Playpen called Smaland for the kids and It’s Free, you can leave your childred here while having your shopping. I really like the concept of Ikea. You can find almost everything you need in your home. Well Categorized items & awesome displays plus they provide sample interior design for different sizes of house, from your livingroom, bedroom & kitchen. If you are from Abu Dhabi, you can visit Ikea without spending a single  dirham in transportation. They provide Free shuttle from Marina Mall to Ikea Yas Island and vice versa.

Ikea Yas Island

After roaming around Ikea, It’s still early to go home so we proceed to Marina Mall to watch Rio in 3D. I’ve watched the trailer of this movie and it seems very ordinary but I was wrong the movie is very awesome, good story plot, lots of funny line, the animation is amazing. 3D movies never fail to amuse me, almost real as if you are there in the scenes..  We really enjoyed the movie especially my daughter, even the adult keeps on laughing for the entire movie.

Some funny quotes from the movie:

Jewel: “Aw, this is great. I’m chained to the only bird in the world who can’t fly! Is there anything else I need to know?”
Blu: “Yes. I can’t fly, I pick my beak, and once in a while I pee in the birdbath!”

_________________

Rafael: “Tell her, you have beautiful eyes”
Blu: “I have beautiful eyes”

If you don’t have any plans for family gimik next weekend you should try to do the same. You will definitely enjoy it.


One Response to “Weekend with Family”

  1. kritikong kiko April 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Hi Anna,

    I agree… Ikea is a nice place to shop, I was there last two weeks ago. Thanks for the movie tip : )

Leave a Reply

