Dr. Google

15 Jul

I have this severe toothache for almost 3 days now, so I decided to visit my dentist. I was hesitant at first coz I know that visit will cost a lot of money ( dental check up here is tripled than in the Philippines). After thorough examination my dentist advised me to have a root canal treatment, but she will not start yet the procedure since my tooth is infected. She just gave me a treatment just to ease the pain and scheduled me for another week. After giving me necessary prescription, I immediately pay 1st installment  for the root canal procedure. Yes I beg for installment pay, 1000 dirhams (12,000 pesos)   is no joke.

Then I went to the nearest pharmacy to buy meds for my tooth infection but unfortunately, I forgot to bring the prescription given to me by my dentist. Good thing I remember the generic name of the meds.

Me: Can I have Metronidazole 500 mg and also amoxicillin clavulanate 1 gm.

Pharmacist: (Gave me a weird look) Is that for you?

Me: Yes!

Pharmacist: for what?

Me: for tooth impection (wondering what’s wrong)

Pharmacist: aaaaahhhh (he smiled slightly)

I left the counter still puzzled about the behavior of the pharmacist. When I reach home I immediately went online, I have this hobby of checking any prescription into internet just for the 2nd opinion. I googled the meds,  then I realized that metronidazole is an antibiotic that fights bacteria in our body and primarily used to cure vaginal impection. Nyay! So that was all about, the weird look on pharmacist’s face.

Warning:

I you feel or suspect something is wrong to your body. Don’t consult Dr. Google. I’m sure you don’t want to know the result. I swear!

A self diagnosis is dangerous. It’s still advisable to seek professional advice.

3 Responses to “Dr. Google”

  1. doon po sa amin August 1, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    haha, natawa naman ako ro’n… kaya pala. hello, ana!🙂

  2. doon po sa amin August 1, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    haha, natawa naman ako ro’n… kaya pala. hello, ana!🙂

Leave a Reply

